Coconut Easter Egg Cookie Nest

Coconut Easter Nest Cookies

These cookies are easy to make & fun to eat. They are cake mix cookies so you can make a batch in no time!

Ingredients

  • 1 box Duncan Hines™ Classic White Cake Mix
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1-1 1/2 cups shredded coconut
  • green food coloring
  • 1 bag jelly beans

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Cover cookie sheets with parchment paper. I have 2 cookie sheets but I use 4 sheets of paper. This way, I can prepare all the cookie batches for baking before the first sheet goes into the oven.

In large mixing bowl or batter bowl, combine oil, eggs & almond extract. Add cake mix & mix until lumps are gone. This takes some work but keep at it.

White coconut with drops of food coloring

White coconut with drops of food coloring

In an empty plastic container, place 3-4 drops of food coloring. Add coconut. Add 3-4 more drops of food coloring. Put lid on container & shake until all the coconut is the desired color. You may want to begin with less food coloring & add more gradually until the coconut is the shade you desire.

Tinted coconut

Tinted coconut

Add tinted coconut to cookie batter & blend thoroughly. Drop by spoonful onto cookie sheet. I made the cookies in this batch larger so only 9 fit on each sheet. You can make them smaller so 12 will fit.

I rolled these cookies into balls, flattened them & made indentations. This isn’t necessary. The cookies puffed up & the indentations went away. I will probably continue to roll them into balls & flatten them though so they have a nice round shape.

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

Bake 10-11 minutes in a 350 oven. Before removing cookies or parchment from sheet onto cooling racks, gently press 2 jelly beans into center of each cookie while still hot. If you make smaller cookies, one jelly bean may be enough. Then carefully slide parchment paper onto cooling racks.

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

I place these cookies on one of my buffet plates with a floral patterned paper plate I bought at Dollar Tree. The plate then went on my cake stand on my living room sideboard.

My Easter sideboard featuring Easter nest cookies!

My Easter sideboard featuring Easter nest cookies!

These are a keeper so I plan to make a larger batch of small cookies for church one Sunday during Lent.

CHANGES

Next time, I plan to add green food coloring to the egg, oil & extract mixture to color the batter as well as the coconut. The coconut tinted the batter but it was speckled. I would prefer it to be a consistent green. This should also help the coconut to stand out.

I also plan to use pastel Easter plan M & M’s instead of jelly beans. I like the jelly beans but I thought the chocolate would be a nice change of pace.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Easter Egg Cookie Nest

Leave a Reply

