My Doris Day Life

terry & I wedding day

I wrote this post 3 years ago. I wanted to share it with you on this Valentine’s Day. Mr. D & I met 38 years ago this summer & we celebrated our 36th anniversary last October. We have been through a lot together, some of it very hard but we have always stuck together. God brought us together & He keeps us together in good times & bad. I hope you enjoy the story of how we met! Happy Valentine’s Day!

I always tell people my life is a Doris Day movie. This was never more true than when I met the infamous Mr. D.

My senior year in college, I lived in a trailer in a mobile home park out in the country. I wasn’t afraid to live alone but the wind blew a lot and the trailer tended to rattle. So, I began sleeping with the radio on every night. And 6 night a week, as I slept, I listened to the deep voice of the overnight announcer, Terry Duckworth. Every morning at 6 AM, I would sit up and turn up the volume of the radio so I could listen to Mr. Duckworth talking and joking with the morning guy, Dennis Lyle.

During the summer, my last semester of school, I heard the radio station was holding an event at the local mall and the announcers from the station would be there. I decided to go to the event, hoping I might see and possibly meet Terry Duckworth.

I remember seeing him walking in the door of the mall. In fact, I watched him all evening, even catching him looking at me from time to time. I wanted to go up and talk to him but all I could think to say was, “I listen to you on the radio all the time!” How lame! So, I just stared.

The last thing they did at the event was a dance contest with each announcer handing out albums to participants. When it was over, I watch as a young girl approached Terry. She wanted to exchange the album she received. At 6’6″, he just stared her down until she went away! I went home without ever talking to him.

That night, I listened as usual, now able to put a face to the voice. I was even more intrigued. During the night, Terry was going on and on about the little girl that didn’t like her FREE album. Strangely enough, Dennis Lyle, the morning guy, happened to be going home while Terry was on the air. This was strange because Dennis got up about 3 or 4 and went to be early. Terry went on at midnight. Dennis heard Terry talking about this girl.

The next day, I woke up as usual, turned up the radio volume and laid back down to doze. Dennis brought up the little girl. Dennis mentioned he had given his albums to his friends in the crowd. Terry said he used his to score points with girls. In fact, he said, “There was this one girl I was watching all evening, a tall chick with blond hair.”

My eyes flew open, I sat up in bed and scream, “Oh my gosh, he’s talking about me!” I have no idea what they talked about after that. Instead, I began a day long argument with myself as to whether or not it was me Terry meant. That night, I finally decided to call and ask him. If I was wrong, I would hang up and he would never know who I was.

My heart was beating so hard when he answered the phone. “I think you were talking about me this morning. I think I’m the tall chick with blond hair. “Were you wearing a black shirt with a scarf around your neck?” I almost dropped the phone. It was exactly what I had been wearing.

We talked for awhile on the phone. Then he asked me if I would like to come over to the station. I did and we talked all night. The next morning, I invited him to my place for breakfast. We talked for hours until I had to leave to attend a church event in St. Louis. He asked for my phone number and when I would be back. He told me he would call and he did.

Once in St. Louis, I found my best friend and told her about the past two days. I began the conversation with the strangest statement, “Last night, I met the man I’m going to marry!”

June marked 36 years since that fateful night at the mall. October marks our 34th anniversary. You know what? My Doris Day Life just keeps getting better!

Leave a Reply

