Cake Mix Snickerdoodles

I teach a Bible Study for women every Tuesday evening. We meet for dessert first so we can visit before we begin our class. I usually bake cookies for the group every week. Well, not just cookies but cake mix cookies! I have found great joy discovering new ways to create yummy cookies for my family, friends & people at church.

Last week, I noticed a recipe for Snickerdoodles on the box of Duncan Hines yellow cake mix. Snickerdoodles are one of my very, very favorite cookies but I never baked them. With this recipe, I will be baking them all the time. I am sharing the recipe below Use the Duncan Hines cake mix to make your Snickerdoodles. Other mixes then to make cookies that have a cake-like consistency. These look & taste like regular cookies. So easy. I like to impress people with my smarts as well as my talent in the kitchen. Nothing is smarter than finding a simpler way to do something!

Snickerdoodles

snickerdoodle-ingredients

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 package Duncan Hines yellow cake mix
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cinnamon & Sugar

Cinnamon & Sugar

Combine cinnamon & sugar in small bowl.

Batter Bowl from Sur la Table

Batter Bowl from Sur la Table

Mix oil, eggs & a splash of vanilla together. The recipe didn’t call for vanilla but it can’t hurt!)

Scrap sides well. Mix by hand.

Scrap sides well. Mix by hand.

Add cake mix & blend well. The mix becomes a bit lumpy. Just keep working it with a spatula until it is smooth.

Use a shallow wide container to coat cookies

Use a shallow wide container to coat cookies

Shape dough in 1″ balls & roll in sugar mixture.

LOVE parchment paper!

LOVE parchment paper!

The recipe says you should grease your cookie sheets. I always use parchment paper. It is fabulous! It allows me to make all my sheets of cookies while only having 2 actual cookie sheets! I was able to get 9 cookies on each sheet. You can flatten the cookies with the bottom of a glass. I didn’t. I like them looking rugged!

Bakery fresh & just as good!

Bakery fresh & just as good!

Bake for 8-9 minutes. Allow to cool completely. Store in air tight container. Great with spiced tea, hot apple cider or cold apple juice!

Leave a Reply

