Basic Muffins

Fresh Strawberry & Blueberry Muffins

Fresh Strawberry & Blueberry Muffins

I love a basic muffin recipe. Even a basic muffin mix. This allows me to make any kind of muffin. I am now making fresh muffins on Saturday for our continental breakfast at church (FPCO) on Sunday. Today, I used a basic mix someone found for me. I haven’t been able fond a basic mix in a few years. Fortunately, I have a recipe from my grandmother, the Infamous Lena B. I can use to make a variety of muffins. Having to mix the muffins from scratch in messy & time consuming. Really like the mix better. If you know where I can find basic (plain) muffin mix, PLEASE let me know!

When making from scratch, I prefer to make enough for at least 2 weeks. Thus, I only have the mess for one week. Messy but worth it. I LOVE the people at my church so my baking is a labor of love!

Basic batter with fresh blueberries

Basic batter with fresh blueberries

Here is my recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees. Sift dry ingredients together. Combine liquids. Add liquids to dry ingredients. Stir until dry ingredients are just wet but not smooth. Batter will be lumpy. Fill greased muffin pan (or pan lined with muffin liners) 2/3 full. Bake for 25 minutes. Makes one dozen muffins. You can mix the dry ingredients together ahead of time & store in plastic bags. Only put one batch per bag. Saves on the confusion!

This is a basic recipe. To it, I add a variety of fruit, flavors & nuts. Today, I added fresh strawberries & fresh blueberries. I also use dried fruit. I like cherry/almond muffins, blueberry/pecan muffins, apricot/pecan muffins. I plan to make orange/pineapple & oatmeal/cranberry muffins.

I also make an incredibly easy pumpkin muffin but…. I plan to share that another day!

Fresh Strawberry Muffins hot from the oven

Fresh Strawberry Muffins hot from the oven

Mix up a batch for a week-end morning. Serve with juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee for an wonderfully relaxing morning! I like them on my front porch!

Ah, I LOVE  my Simple Joy Life!

Leave a Reply

